Catching the Wind

Nearly three years ago I started this blog because I was moved by a particular act of mercy and saw in it something special about God (Check out the “In Honour of a Butterfly” entry from the second box on the right for the full story) and a blog seemed an appropriate place to record what I saw.  So I began, and I’ve tried to write at least once a month.  Usually I would get a half-dozen readers each week and that was fine.  Then, last week, I began getting dozens of visitors to my web-site each day because it is on the ‘Window’s Live’ network, and they’ve just launched a new version of their search engine which prioritizes sites on their own network; and so my fairly meagre blog is right in the middle of a new and unexpected flow of interest from throughout cyberspace.  It’s like a small town hot-dog stand just had a main highway built right alongside, and is now selling hundreds instead of dozens of hot-dogs per week. 

Have I done anything different? No.  I just did what I did at the time and tried to make sure that it was worth doing.  The conditions changed and my blog benefits.  Hopefully what’s on it will be helpful and someone else will benefit too.

And the point is?  That despite our best efforts we have very little control over the conditions in which we work.  The winds of economic change blow and our small yachts are easily swamped – or given a burst of exhilarating speed – or frustratingly becalmed.  What matters is not our ‘success’ or ‘failure’ given that most of the time this is dependent on factors far outside our control, but how we respond to the weather we’re given.  And just as that applies to our health, to our finances, and to our sporting successes, it applies also to our spiritual life.  “The wind (Spirit) blows where it chooses, and you hear the sound of it, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes.” said Jesus.  He was right.  When things are going well, we need to give thanks to God, rather than claim the credit.  When things are not so good, we need to simply stay faithful to the task at hand, and wait for the wind to come in due course.

If I had never started this blog, I would never have been here to catch this particular flow of cyber-interest.  Sometimes we simply need to begin building a boat in the desert and wait for the rain.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

