Trusting Eternity

I just screwed up and tossed into the bin my notes for the communion service last Sunday.  Now, I don’t like tossing out anything like that; I’ve always got in the back of my mind the possibility that I’ll be able to use it again someday – or someone else will.  But today, with only the slightest of hesitations, I binned it.  NOt becasue it was a bad service, but simply because it was not the service itself.  It was just a series of prompts.  The service itself was an event that took place somewhere between yesterday and eternity, and the part that belongs to yesterday can be left there, and the part that belongs to eternity will never be lost.  Sometimes, wise as it is as a rule to preserve such work, I think it is wiser to let go of yesterday, to trust eternity, and to live today.
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

